News & Updates

ANNOUNCING: The Southern Nevada Home Builders Association Names Warmington’s Greg Oberling as 2012 President


The Southern Nevada Home Builders Association installed its 2012 slate of officers and directors during the installation and awards luncheon Thursday (December 8th) at the Four Seasons Hotel. CAMCO and Southwest Gas Corp. were co-sponsors of the event.

Source: Las Vegas Review-Journal

Greg Oberling of Warmington Residential Nevada was named the 2012 president of the Southern Nevada Home Builders Association at an awards luncheon Thursday, December 8th.

Effective Jan. 1, Greg Oberling of Warmington Residential Nevada is president of the 300-member trade group; Rocky Cochran of Pardee Homes is first vice president; and Robert V. McGibney of KB Home is second vice president.

Oberling is division president at Warmington, which he joined 16 years ago. He has worked in the real estate industry for 25 years, three years as a lender and 22 years in homebuilding. He started attending SNHBA events in 1989 when he was vice president of development at Falcon Development, becoming an active member in 1996. He has served as first vice president, second vice president, chairman of the association’s Legislative and Community Planning and Development committees, and a member of the Executive Committee. A native of Quincy, Ill., he moved to Carson City at age 16 where he graduated from Carson High School and the University of Nevada, Reno.

Diana Bossard of B2 Development Services continues as the association’s treasurer; and Tony Stipanov of Southwest Gas Corp. continues as secretary in 2012.

The builder members on the board of directors are: Mark Bivins, Inspiration Homes; Don Boettcher, Dunhill Homes; Clinton M. Cox, Meritage Homes; James Gomez, Richmond American Homes; David S. Jennings, D. R. Horton; Brandon Laughter, Pulte Homes; Robert V. McGibney, KB Home; Frank Pankratz, EHB Cos.; Jeremy Parness, Lennar; Brian Plaster, Signature Homes; and Tom Warden, The Howard Hughes Corp.

The associate members on the board are: Barbara Baird, B2 Development Services; Scott Donnelly, Cooper Roofing Co.; Jim Fitch, Cox Las Vegas; Sherrie Hermann, Cal/Pac Painting; Ed Lubbers, The Lubbers Law Group; Ken Williams, CAMCO; and Darren Wilson, Sierra Air Conditioning.

These elected board members, along with the officers, the senior directors and past presidents, constitute the board of directors.

During the event, SNHBA’s outgoing 2011 President Frank Wyatt of Pinnacle Homes presented several awards.

The Builder Member of the Year Award went to Rocky Cochran of Pardee Homes, and the Associate Member of the Year Award went to Jerry Helton of Development Consultants for “outstanding service to the association and the industry.”

President’s special awards for outstanding contributions to the community and/or industry went to Nevada State Sen. Michael A. Schneider; Gale Wm. Fraser II, the general manager and chief engineer at the Clark County Regional Flood Control District; former Las Vegas Mayor Oscar Goodman; Irene Vogel, the chief executive office of the Greater Las Vegas Association of Realtors; Steve Holloway, executive director of the Associated General Contractors-Las Vegas chapter; and member Southwest Gas Corp.

The 2011 Builder Spike Award for membership recruitment went to Dan Wright of Distinctive Homes as the builder member who recruited the most new members this year; the Associate Spike Award went to David Fortner of American Pavement Preservation as the associate member who recruited the most new members in 2011.

Founded in 1953 by 12 local home builders and incorporated with the state of Nevada in 1954, the Southern Nevada Home Builders Association ranks as the oldest and largest local trade organization representing the residential construction industry. Its members work in all facets of the homebuilding industry.